The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Slow Cooked Puerto Rican Pulled Pork (Pernil)

4.94 Mitt(s) 17 Rating(s)17 votes, average: 4.94 out of 517 votes, average: 4.94 out of 517 votes, average: 4.94 out of 517 votes, average: 4.94 out of 517 votes, average: 4.94 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

8
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

When you open the crockpot, the pork is floating in its own juices and falls apart when you put your fork in it. You can pull it apart with a spoon, it is so tender. The leftovers also make great sandwiches.

Ingredients

  • 4 pounds Pork Shoulder/Butt
  • 6 cloves Garlic, Pressed
  • ¼ teaspoons Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Oregano
  • 1-½ Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1-½ Tablespoon White Vinegar
  • 4 teaspoons Salt

Preparation

Combine garlic, pepper, oregano, olive oil, vinegar and salt. Rub pork with garlic mixture and refrigerate overnight.

When ready, drop into the crockpot on low for 8 hrs.

Done! Consume with vigor.

27 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of Carol Esmiol

Carol Esmiol on 10.26.2014

Love this recipe it is so easy and tastes wonderful.

Profile photo of Gini

Gini on 8.25.2011

Oh my goodness! So happy to have found you here! I grew up in PR but now live in TX and Im didnt really learn to cook PR stuff. But I am going to try your recipes! Thank you for sharing!

Profile photo of hissweetgypsyrose

hissweetgypsyrose on 4.9.2011

Oh, wow! This looks great! I am going to make this tomorrow. I can’t wait!

Profile photo of susanmcortes

susanmcortes on 9.12.2010

i did this yesterday/today and it was THE BEST! my VERY PICKY Rican in laws were VERY impressed!!! definately a keeper!

Profile photo of Cookie

Cookie on 6.22.2010

this is out of this WORLD! Perfect as is.

17 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of terrilw

terrilw on 10.19.2017

This was incredible!!! Could not have been easier. This will be the only way I do pulled pork from now on. Made Cuban sandwiches with it.

Profile photo of mayasmom

mayasmom on 3.7.2015

Delicious as so easy. Can’t wait to eat the leftovers in taco form today.

Profile photo of ljcranek

ljcranek on 4.30.2014

Loved this recipe. It’s refreshing to have a non-sweet pulled pork recipe!

Profile photo of Peyay717

Peyay717 on 8.6.2012

Amazing! I’ve made this a few times and it’s been delicious every single time. I just made it for a party where it fed over 30 people and I got so many compliments. This is my go to pulled pork recipe!

Profile photo of Christine Wehner

Christine Wehner on 5.31.2012

So delicious!! The second time I made it, I added chopped onions and will do that from now on.

Related Recipes

Jerk Chicken
Profile Photo by Krystle in Main Courses
Perfectly spiced chicken that is juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. Served...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


The Most Amazing Crustless Quiche
Profile Photo by Jennifer Banz in Main Courses
This easy crustless quiche is filled to the brim with bacon...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Mexican Lasagna
Profile Photo by Krystle in Main Courses
Saucy beef, and gooey cheese sandwiched between layers of noodles. Combine...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Al Pastor
Profile Photo by PW Food & Friends in Main Courses
Thin slices of pork shoulder are marinated in a blend of...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Chicken, Mushroom and Asparagus Spaghetti
Profile Photo by AD Kitchen in Main Courses
This is one of our best Italian pasta recipes. It's fast,...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy