The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

Pumpkin Pancakes

4.80 Mitt(s) 20 Rating(s)20 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

4
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

Thick batter cooks up into fluffy, lightly spiced Pumpkin Pancakes! Perfect on a chilly school morning!

Ingredients

  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • ½ cups Spelt Flour (You May Substitute All-Purpose Flour)
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoons Ginger
  • 1-½ cup Non-fat Milk
  • ½ cups Canned Or Fresh Pumpkin
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 1-½ Tablespoon Vegetable Oil

Preparation

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients and whisk to combine. In a small bowl whisk together the milk, pumpkin, eggs and oil. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until combined, being careful not to over-mix. The batter will be thick! Ladle batter in desired portions over a hot nonstick pan or griddle and flip when bubbles begin to break on the tops. Cook another few couple of minutes and remove from griddle.

Liv says these are best served plain and drenched with maple syrup, but I prefer mine topped with sliced banana, a spoonful of raisins and a sprinkle of walnuts!

4 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of beckyann

beckyann on 1.5.2012

I made these this morning and thought they were ok. The batter is thick, but the pancakes are really thick, even with spreading them out on the griddle. I think if I make them again I would definitely add a little more milk and some more sugar. I added 2 Tbsp, but they were not the slightest bit sweet (I guess I like my pancakes to be a little more sweet so I don’t have to use so much syrup). Anyway, they were good and the kids liked them, just think next time around I’ll make a few changes.

Avatar of JillyBean

JillyBean on 8.7.2011

For whatever reason, pancakes & I have problems . . . do you know what modifications, if any, would be needed to convert this recipe to waffles instead?

Avatar of hailskitchen

hailskitchen on 10.12.2010

These looks wonderful! I can’t wait for a chilly weekend morning to make these. Thanks for sharing!

Avatar of Twinks

Twinks on 10.12.2010

The fall weather makes me want to make all things pumpkin and apple and ginger. These sound so yummy and just right for this time of year when the mornings are so crisp!

20 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of Marie

Marie on 10.4.2013

I misplaced my Pumpkin Pancake recipe so I tried this one. I’m sorry I’m not leaving a positive review, but I read everyone else’s reviews before I try a recipe and find them very helpful. For me, I want to taste pumpkin and spices and I didn’t in these pancakes. I even added a full cup of pumpkin and not the 1/2 C that was called for. I still found them to be lacking in flavor.

Avatar of Kelly

Kelly on 10.7.2012

These were liked by all. I thought they were a little lacking in sweetness (and pumpkin flavor), but still a very good pancake.

Avatar of mayasmom

mayasmom on 9.22.2012

Another believer here. Wow what a recipe. I did add 2 tablespoons of sugar and let the family choose if they wanted chocolate or white chocolate chips added in while pancakes were on the griddle. We will make this again and again. Perfect recipe for the first day of fall.

Avatar of 4my4girls

4my4girls on 6.5.2012

These were the perfect combination of sweet and spice. I didn’t have spelt flour so I just used my unbleached all purpose. We will be putting these into our regular rotation :)

Avatar of catie27

catie27 on 1.6.2012

I will chalk up my pancakes to user error – I used half AP flour and half whole wheat. Way too thick! Otherwise, I followed the recipe and the *flavor* was out of this world! I’m going to try again with just AP, as in my little podunk town there’s no spelt flour for miles. Thank you for a great recipe!

Related Recipes

Pumpkin Pancakes
Avatar Image by Leigh Suznovich of Jeanie and Lulu's Kitchen in Breakfast
These pumpkin pancakes are so fluffy and full of great fall...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Oatmeal Banana Chip Pancakes
Avatar Image by Lindsay Kittleson in Breakfast
Say goodbye to the plain old pancake that needs tons of...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy


Breakfast Lasagna
Avatar Image by Amy in the Kitchen in Breakfast
Delicious layers of biscuits, sausage, eggs, potatoes, onions, peppers and of...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Fall Harvest Granola
Avatar Image by Superman Cooks in Breakfast
A fresh and great tasting crunchy and chewy granola. Perfect as...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Pumpkin Pie Yogurt Parfait
Avatar Image by Lisa | Healthy Nibbles & Bits in Breakfast
This delicious yogurt parfait is filled with pumpkin pie flavors. Yes,...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 1 Level: Easy