The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Pumpkin Pancakes

4.80 Mitt(s) 20 Rating(s)20 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 520 votes, average: 4.80 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

4
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

Thick batter cooks up into fluffy, lightly spiced Pumpkin Pancakes! Perfect on a chilly school morning!

Ingredients

  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • ½ cups Spelt Flour (You May Substitute All-Purpose Flour)
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoons Ginger
  • 1-½ cup Non-fat Milk
  • ½ cups Canned Or Fresh Pumpkin
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 1-½ Tablespoon Vegetable Oil

Preparation

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients and whisk to combine. In a small bowl whisk together the milk, pumpkin, eggs and oil. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until combined, being careful not to over-mix. The batter will be thick! Ladle batter in desired portions over a hot nonstick pan or griddle and flip when bubbles begin to break on the tops. Cook another few couple of minutes and remove from griddle.

Liv says these are best served plain and drenched with maple syrup, but I prefer mine topped with sliced banana, a spoonful of raisins and a sprinkle of walnuts!

4 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of beckyann

beckyann on 1.5.2012

I made these this morning and thought they were ok. The batter is thick, but the pancakes are really thick, even with spreading them out on the griddle. I think if I make them again I would definitely add a little more milk and some more sugar. I added 2 Tbsp, but they were not the slightest bit sweet (I guess I like my pancakes to be a little more sweet so I don’t have to use so much syrup). Anyway, they were good and the kids liked them, just think next time around I’ll make a few changes.

Profile photo of JillyBean

JillyBean on 8.7.2011

For whatever reason, pancakes & I have problems . . . do you know what modifications, if any, would be needed to convert this recipe to waffles instead?

Profile photo of hailskitchen

hailskitchen on 10.12.2010

These looks wonderful! I can’t wait for a chilly weekend morning to make these. Thanks for sharing!

Profile photo of Twinks

Twinks on 10.12.2010

The fall weather makes me want to make all things pumpkin and apple and ginger. These sound so yummy and just right for this time of year when the mornings are so crisp!

20 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of Marie

Marie on 10.4.2013

I misplaced my Pumpkin Pancake recipe so I tried this one. I’m sorry I’m not leaving a positive review, but I read everyone else’s reviews before I try a recipe and find them very helpful. For me, I want to taste pumpkin and spices and I didn’t in these pancakes. I even added a full cup of pumpkin and not the 1/2 C that was called for. I still found them to be lacking in flavor.

Profile photo of Kelly

Kelly on 10.7.2012

These were liked by all. I thought they were a little lacking in sweetness (and pumpkin flavor), but still a very good pancake.

Profile photo of mayasmom

mayasmom on 9.22.2012

Another believer here. Wow what a recipe. I did add 2 tablespoons of sugar and let the family choose if they wanted chocolate or white chocolate chips added in while pancakes were on the griddle. We will make this again and again. Perfect recipe for the first day of fall.

Profile photo of 4my4girls

4my4girls on 6.5.2012

These were the perfect combination of sweet and spice. I didn’t have spelt flour so I just used my unbleached all purpose. We will be putting these into our regular rotation :)

Profile photo of catie27

catie27 on 1.6.2012

I will chalk up my pancakes to user error – I used half AP flour and half whole wheat. Way too thick! Otherwise, I followed the recipe and the *flavor* was out of this world! I’m going to try again with just AP, as in my little podunk town there’s no spelt flour for miles. Thank you for a great recipe!

Related Recipes

Potato Pancakes with Filet Mignon and Fried Eggs
Profile Photo by Jen @ Peanut Butter and Peppers in Breakfast
Savory potato pancakes, topped with thinly sliced melt-in-your-mouth filet mignon and...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Blueberry French Toast Casserole
Profile Photo by DeLynn's Delectables in Breakfast
This is a great breakfast casserole to make for a potluck...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Eggnog Donut Muffins
Profile Photo by Show Me the Yummy in Breakfast
Eggnog donuts that are baked like muffins! Fluffy, moist, filled with...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 20 Level: Easy


Roasted Asparagus with Poached Eggs & Basil Hollandaise
Profile Photo by Natalie Wiser-Orozco in Breakfast
Decadent and healthy, this breakfast is perfect for the holidays while...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Coconut Milk Breakfast Quinoa
Profile Photo by warmvanillasugar in Breakfast
This breakfast quinoa is a great substitute to regular oatmeal! Served...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy