The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

Honey Oatmeal Bread

4.98 Mitt(s) 50 Rating(s)50 votes, average: 4.98 out of 550 votes, average: 4.98 out of 550 votes, average: 4.98 out of 550 votes, average: 4.98 out of 550 votes, average: 4.98 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

24
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

This bread is simple and comforting. It is great for sandwiches.

Ingredients

  • 4-½ teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
  • ½ cups Honey
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2-¼ cups Water
  • 1 Tablespoon Salt
  • 2-¾ cups All-purpose Flour
  • 4 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 cup Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1 whole Egg

Preparation

In a medium bowl (or in a saucepan), heat the butter and honey until the butter is melted. Remove from heat and add the water; the mixture should be warm (110-120 degrees). Stir in the yeast and let sit until bubbly, about 10 minutes (this is called making a sponge).

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a dough hook, combine salt, yeast mixture, 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. With mixer on low, gradually blend liquid into dry ingredients until just blended. Increase the speed to medium, beat for two minutes, occasionally scraping bowl. Gradually beat in the egg and one cup of whole wheat flour to make a thick batter. Continue beating for two minutes. Stir in oats, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. Knead till smooth and elastic. Use more flour if dough is too sticky (I usually add about 2/3 cup more).

Place in a greased bowl and cover. Let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

Punch the dough down. Turn onto a floured surface; cover with the bowl and let rise for 15 minutes. Shape into two loaves and let rise for 1 hour in greased 9 x 5 loaf pans.

Bake at 350 degrees (F) for 35 to 40 minutes.

(You can make the dough in a bread machine, using bread flour instead of all-purpose flour. Use the dough mode setting for the largest size loaf. Follow the recipe’s directions for the second rise and baking.)

48 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of Josie Landon

Josie Landon on 5.8.2012

I made the bread again, but this time used a combination of maple syrup and brown sugar in place of the honey. I also added a little dough conditioner to help keep it light. Very good!

Avatar of bethannabel

bethannabel on 1.17.2012

Delicious! One question — what’s the best way to store it?? I’m new at breads :)

Avatar of marty

marty on 11.29.2011

Although I haven’t tried this recipe yet, I love the simplicity of the ingredients and am going to give it a shot this weekend. Sounds like a delicious bread to spread some homemade jam on. Delicious!

Avatar of Karen Sandoval

Karen Sandoval on 11.19.2011

warning: half the ingredients if you are using a bread machine. this makes 2 loaves and if you follow it as written here you will have overflow. no problem though, i just cut it in half and put the other half in a loaf pan! its still rising! 1 hour to go

Avatar of cewhitaker

cewhitaker on 10.3.2011

This recipe looks fabulous! I can wait to try it.. The orange rolls are another recipe I am going to have to try. Thank you for sharing.

50 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of 1001tealcranes

1001tealcranes on 9.10.2012

Amazing bread. I changed out a cup of wheat flour for a cup of ground flax seed for some added healthy stuff and it turned out amazing! Such an easy recipe and delicious hearty bread. I sliced, wrapped and put in the freezer to keep longer since there are no preservatives.

Avatar of Josie Landon

Josie Landon on 4.29.2012

Wonderful, flavorful bread that is perfect for sandwiches. Because there is just the two of us, I tightly wrapped and froze the second loaf. It defrosted beautifully the next week. This one is a keeper!

Avatar of kender3

kender3 on 4.1.2012

This is fool proof. I know, because I’m the fool who forgot to put the blade in the bread machine. After a major mess, kneaded it into dough and carried on–and it is really good. Looking forward to trying again in a more conventional way.

Avatar of Kelly

Kelly on 2.16.2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this bread! I couldn’t get my kids to eat it, but they are super picky.

Avatar of betny

betny on 1.31.2012

This was so good! I used instant yeast instead of active dry, so I used 3.5 tsp and added it to the first 3 cups of flour/salt. I mixed that and then put the honey/butter/water in (still at 110*). Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious! :o)

Related Recipes

Double Chocolate Scones
Avatar Image by Stacey @ Bake.Eat.Repeat. in Breads
Decadent double chocolate scones. Perfect for that chocolate craving with your...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Gluten-Free Pumpkin Bread!
Avatar Image by Southern Vegan Kitchen in Breads, Desserts, Special Dietary Needs
Healthy and delicious! Perfect pumpkin bread, gluten-free and sugar-free. All the...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Healthy Chocolate Banana Muffins
Avatar Image by Rebecca Blackwell in Breads
These delicious chocolate banana muffins make you feel like you’re eating...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 21 Level: Easy


Sugar and Spice Pumpkin Bread
Avatar Image by Cheesy Pennies in Breads
This is my go-to version of this Fall favorite. Moist, full...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Zucchini Bread with Walnuts
Avatar Image by Catherine | Confessions Of A Grad School Foodie in Breads
This is my grandmother's zucchini bread recipe. The perfect balance of...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 16 Level: Easy