The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Snickerdoodle Muffins

4.93 Mitt(s) 32 Rating(s)32 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

12
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

Delicious muffins that combines the best of a snickerdoodle cookie with the comfort of a warm muffin, perfect for breakfast or dessert!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Butter, Softened
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 2-¼ cups Flour
  • ¾ teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ¾ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ¾ teaspoons Cream Of Tartar
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 cup Sour Cream
  • ¼ cups Buttermilk
  • _____
  • FOR THE TOPPING:
  • ⅔ cups Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Cinnamon

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Prepare a muffin tin with liners. (I learned the hard way that they are too fragile for just cooking spray.)

In a mixer, combine the butter and sugar and cream until fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla and combine.

In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add half of the dry ingredients to the mixing bowl and stir to combine. Add the sour cream and buttermilk and mix to combine. Add the rest of the dry ingredients and mix until you have a smooth batter.

In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon for the topping.

Use scooper and plop a scoop of batter into the bowl with the sugar and cinnamon. Gently roll the batter in the sugar and cinnamon. Place the ball into the muffin liner.

When you have completed all of the muffins, sprinkle the leftover cinnamon sugar onto the tops of all of the muffins.

Bake the muffins at 350ºF for about 15-18 minutes or until they are golden on top and just baked through.

Enjoy!

***Adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody***

13 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of jrhodes85

jrhodes85 on 4.8.2011

I made these once already, they are amazing!! But tonight, I was going to a party and decided to try to turn this into a “cake”. Here’s what I did: multiply the amounts for everything in the recipe by 1.5 — I actually used half splenda/half real sugar because I ran out of sugar and didn’t feel like going to the store… anyway…. After mixing everything, I used 2- 8 inch cake pans, sprayed with pam. I sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar mix, split the batter in half and spread it evenly, the sprinkled more cinnamon sugar on top of each cake. Baked @ 350 for 30 minutes, then I put a cream cheese/powdered sugar glaze in between the two cakes and on top. It was great, tasted just like the muffins, and everyone raved!!

Profile photo of

on 4.8.2011

I was able to made 24 mini-muffins and 6 full size. I use a tbs scoop like I use for cookies.

I did reduce the butter to 1.5 sticks.

Profile photo of dyeabolical

dyeabolical on 4.4.2011

Utterly heavenly – put into muffin liners, and worked great – only fill half full!

Profile photo of normab

normab on 3.20.2011

These are incredibly good! I just made them and they are disappearing fast!

I used the paper liners – worked well! I sprinkled some sugar mixture in first, then spooned in the batter, then generously sprinkled more on top – (Too much work to roll them, I thought)

For me, the yield was 1 dozen regular size muffins and 2 doz mini muffins.

Definitely will be making these again!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Profile photo of ccsick

ccsick on 3.15.2011

I, too think I’ll make the mini ones. There’s a gal coming from Germany to teach us glass this weekend. This will be great to have there. Thanks for sharing!!!

32 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of thesweetandsalty

thesweetandsalty on 12.19.2011

Snickerdoodles are my husband’s favorite and he has been away on business so I surprised him with these when he got home. Big hit! I was thinking of making them for a Christmas Eve brunch and they got a big thumbs up so decision made.

Profile photo of msblue

msblue on 11.28.2011

Oh so yummy. I made 17 large muffins from your recipe and I don’t think that will be enough for hungry appetites. Didn’t have buttermilk so I used a little whole milk as a substitute. Will definitely make them again and again and again.

Profile photo of misspriss

misspriss on 8.1.2011

These turned out so good! A little messy to make, but so worth it. Following the other baker’s advice I cut the butter down to 1 and 1/2 sticks instead of 2. For me the recipe yielded 18 muffins. Thanks for sharing! I will definitely be making these again!

Profile photo of alwayssmile

alwayssmile on 6.13.2011

My new favorite muffin recipe. :)

Profile photo of Denise

Denise on 6.8.2011

These a wonderful muffins! I baked them in the morning so my husband could take them to work for a Monday morning meeting and everyone at the meeting kept telling him to thank me for sending them with him. Thankfully the recipe made more than a dozen (I made 16) so I had to try one. They were so moist and delicate. I fell in love with them, yes they are a little difficult to work with, but well worth the effort. I cook for a sorority and can’t wait to see how they like them. But I am sure they will because their favorite snack I make for them is Snickerdoodle blondies and I think these muffins will be another favorite of theirs, I know it’s mine! Thanks for sharing and making a lot of people happy.

Related Recipes

Pumpkin Peanut Butter Spice Bread
Profile Photo by Gayle | Pumpkin 'N Spice in Breads
This Pumpkin Peanut Butter Spice Bread is filled with warm pumpkin...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Easy Cheesy Crescent Rolls
Profile Photo by Jen @ Peanut Butter and Peppers in Breads
A buttery and slightly salty roll, filled with cheddar cheese. Only...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Cheddar Herb Popovers
Profile Photo by Superman Cooks in Breads
A Thanksgiving standard. A light and airy twist on a standard...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 12 Level: Easy


15-Minute Puff Pastry
Profile Photo by DessertForTwo in Breads
The real deal. In 15 minutes. Oh so flaky. Oh so...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 1 Level: Easy


Cheesy Garlic Bread
Profile Photo by Laura @ My Friend's Bakery in Breads
A yummy addition to any meal that is loaded with garlic...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy