The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Chipotle Sweet Potato Corn Chowder

4.81 Mitt(s) 21 Rating(s)21 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

10
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

Sweet with a little spice, this is the perfect chowder for a cool fall day.

Ingredients

  • 5 whole Sweet Potatoes, Roasted And Cubed
  • 2-½ cups Corn, Fresh Off The Cob Or Frozen
  • 8 slices Bacon
  • 1 cup Leeks, Sliced
  • 1 whole Vidalia Or Other Sweet Onion
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Thyme
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Marjoram
  • 2 boxes Chicken Stock (32oz Each), Divided
  • 2 whole Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce, Finely Chopped
  • 1-½ cup Heavy Cream

Preparation

1. Wrap sweet potatoes in tin foil; do not pierce and roast in the oven for about 45 minutes to an hour at 375 degrees. Once soft, peel and cube. (Some of these will get smashed and some will not, so cube to your desired size.)

2. If using fresh corn on the cob, your cobs can be used to produce a broth. Place in a bowl with the heavy cream to infuse the corn flavor while you’re cooking the chowder. Discard cobs before adding the cream to the pot.

3. Fry bacon in a dutch oven or other large heavy bottomed pot. Once crispy, remove and set aside, leaving the bacon fat in your pot.

4. Cook leeks, onion, corn, thyme and marjoram in the bacon fat, stirring constantly until tender.

5. Add cubed sweet potatoes, 1-1 1/2 boxes of chicken stock, and chipotle peppers; simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes, or until potatoes are tender. Using an immersion blender, blend 1/2-1/3 of the soup. (You want to leave some of the corn and potato cubes whole.) At this point, you can add more chicken stock if needed, keeping in mind that you will still be adding in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream.

6. Simmer chowder for another 10 minutes, then add heavy cream (minus corn cobs) and combine well. If your chowder seems too thick, add more chicken stock and/or water to thin until you reach the desired consistency. Top with crumbled bacon.

Tips: Serve with corn chips or a nice crusty french loaf.

18 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of ceg0312

ceg0312 on 3.16.2011

This soup looks divine, but I have a question: is it possible to substitute whole milk for (at least some of) the cream? Has anyone tried to do so? Thanks so much.

Profile photo of abiroo

abiroo on 2.13.2011

This soup was everything that was said previous and more. I thought it was one of the best soups I made this winter. This is on the list to do again soon. Fanastic!! Serve with salad and bread. Thank you for sharing.

Profile photo of BaileysMom

BaileysMom on 2.8.2010

Loved this! I made the mistake of cooking the sweet potatoes too long, so I could not cube any to put in the soup. I ended up puree-ing them all and blended that into the soup. Turned out great; my husband and I both loved it.

Profile photo of Nicoletta

Nicoletta on 1.18.2010

It was such an odd combination of ingredients (to me), but tasted SO good!!!

Profile photo of Karenpie

Karenpie on 1.1.2010

Made this today for our New Year’s Day buffet. It’s awesome! It also has more of a kick to it than I expected. But, since I like spicy things it’s fine! Hubby loved it and friends who were here raved over it.
I’ll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!

21 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of terrilw

terrilw on 10.2.2013

Excellent! The whole family loved it. I added a good pinch of salt at the end, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.

Profile photo of Marie

Marie on 1.14.2013

I followed this recipe exactly and we did not like it at all. We love all of these things…corn, sweet potatoes, chipotle, but not this recipe. I went back afterwards and checked to see if I’d missed anything or done something wrong, but I hadn’t. I thought the thyme was overwhelming and I love thyme.

Profile photo of Kelly

Kelly on 10.12.2012

Delicious, and a great way to get your orange veggies!

Profile photo of AngAk

AngAk on 4.9.2012

this chowder was outstanding! we added some leftover baked salmon. will definitely be a regular meal at our house.

Profile photo of Heather Lowe

Heather Lowe on 4.4.2012

Great spin on corn chowder. I only used 1/2 the amount of chipotle peppers in adobo which was the perfect amount for my family.

Related Recipes

Back to Basics Butternut Squash Soup
Profile Photo by Becky Mollenkamp in Soups
This super simple recipe incorporates only the most common elements of...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Roasted Garlic and Cauliflower Soup with Anchovy-Buttered Toast
Profile Photo by Denise in Soups
A healthy and delicious vegetarian soup. Packed with a ton of...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Thai Coconut Tofu Vegetable Soup
Profile Photo by Joyce@Light Orange Bean in Soups
Serving this light, appetizing soup is a great way to start...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 3 Level: Easy


Southwestern Corn Chowder
Profile Photo by Superman Cooks in Soups
A savory yet sweet soup to warm the soul on a...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Thai Coconut Soup
Profile Photo by In Good Flavor in Soups
A simple soup with a sophisticated flavor profile.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy