The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

Chipotle Sweet Potato Corn Chowder

4.81 Mitt(s) 21 Rating(s)21 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 521 votes, average: 4.81 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

10
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

Sweet with a little spice, this is the perfect chowder for a cool fall day.

Ingredients

  • 5 whole Sweet Potatoes, Roasted And Cubed
  • 2-½ cups Corn, Fresh Off The Cob Or Frozen
  • 8 slices Bacon
  • 1 cup Leeks, Sliced
  • 1 whole Vidalia Or Other Sweet Onion
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Thyme
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Marjoram
  • 2 boxes Chicken Stock (32oz Each), Divided
  • 2 whole Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce, Finely Chopped
  • 1-½ cup Heavy Cream

Preparation

1. Wrap sweet potatoes in tin foil; do not pierce and roast in the oven for about 45 minutes to an hour at 375 degrees. Once soft, peel and cube. (Some of these will get smashed and some will not, so cube to your desired size.)

2. If using fresh corn on the cob, your cobs can be used to produce a broth. Place in a bowl with the heavy cream to infuse the corn flavor while you’re cooking the chowder. Discard cobs before adding the cream to the pot.

3. Fry bacon in a dutch oven or other large heavy bottomed pot. Once crispy, remove and set aside, leaving the bacon fat in your pot.

4. Cook leeks, onion, corn, thyme and marjoram in the bacon fat, stirring constantly until tender.

5. Add cubed sweet potatoes, 1-1 1/2 boxes of chicken stock, and chipotle peppers; simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes, or until potatoes are tender. Using an immersion blender, blend 1/2-1/3 of the soup. (You want to leave some of the corn and potato cubes whole.) At this point, you can add more chicken stock if needed, keeping in mind that you will still be adding in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream.

6. Simmer chowder for another 10 minutes, then add heavy cream (minus corn cobs) and combine well. If your chowder seems too thick, add more chicken stock and/or water to thin until you reach the desired consistency. Top with crumbled bacon.

Tips: Serve with corn chips or a nice crusty french loaf.

18 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of ceg0312

ceg0312 on 3.16.2011

This soup looks divine, but I have a question: is it possible to substitute whole milk for (at least some of) the cream? Has anyone tried to do so? Thanks so much.

Avatar of abiroo

abiroo on 2.13.2011

This soup was everything that was said previous and more. I thought it was one of the best soups I made this winter. This is on the list to do again soon. Fanastic!! Serve with salad and bread. Thank you for sharing.

Avatar of BaileysMom

BaileysMom on 2.8.2010

Loved this! I made the mistake of cooking the sweet potatoes too long, so I could not cube any to put in the soup. I ended up puree-ing them all and blended that into the soup. Turned out great; my husband and I both loved it.

Avatar of Nicoletta

Nicoletta on 1.18.2010

It was such an odd combination of ingredients (to me), but tasted SO good!!!

Avatar of Karenpie

Karenpie on 1.1.2010

Made this today for our New Year’s Day buffet. It’s awesome! It also has more of a kick to it than I expected. But, since I like spicy things it’s fine! Hubby loved it and friends who were here raved over it.
I’ll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!

21 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of terrilw

terrilw on 10.2.2013

Excellent! The whole family loved it. I added a good pinch of salt at the end, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.

Avatar of Marie

Marie on 1.14.2013

I followed this recipe exactly and we did not like it at all. We love all of these things…corn, sweet potatoes, chipotle, but not this recipe. I went back afterwards and checked to see if I’d missed anything or done something wrong, but I hadn’t. I thought the thyme was overwhelming and I love thyme.

Avatar of Kelly

Kelly on 10.12.2012

Delicious, and a great way to get your orange veggies!

Avatar of AngAk

AngAk on 4.9.2012

this chowder was outstanding! we added some leftover baked salmon. will definitely be a regular meal at our house.

Avatar of Heather Lowe

Heather Lowe on 4.4.2012

Great spin on corn chowder. I only used 1/2 the amount of chipotle peppers in adobo which was the perfect amount for my family.

Related Recipes

Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Soup
Avatar Image by Homemade-with love in Soups
A hint of curry and a spicy chorizo garnish take this...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Creamy Cauliflower and Cheddar Soup
Avatar Image by Susan | Simple Healthy Kitchen in Soups
This soup is so creamy. However there is no cream in...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Chicken Pot Pie Soup
Avatar Image by Dax Phillips in Soups
A twist on classic chicken pot pie, turned into a soup....
5.00 Mitt(s) 1 Rating(s)1 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 12 Level: Easy


Quick & Easy Creamy Corn Chowder
Avatar Image by C. L. ( Cheryl ) "Cheffie Cooks" Wiser in Soups
Fast and delicious lunch option for the cool months ahead! Creamy...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


White Bean, Chicken and Corn Chowder
Avatar Image by Justine Sulia (Cooking and Beer) in Soups
This white bean, chicken and corn chowder is loaded with deliciousness...
5.00 Mitt(s) 1 Rating(s)1 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 10 Level: Easy