The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Individual Scalloped Potatoes

4.28 Mitt(s) 14 Rating(s)14 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

12
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

They have a little bit of a crisp, very buttery and creamy. The scallions are a must because they give them such great flavor. I am sure you could probably substitute maybe some minced garlic if you like. Yes, they are sinfully delicious, but they are little so they can’t do much damage. Feel free to eat 5 or 6. Really, they are so little, how can it hurt?

Ingredients

  • 8 whole Medium Potatoes
  • 1 stick Butter
  • 1 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • ½ cups Scallions, Chopped
  • 12 teaspoons Half-and-half
  • Salt And Pepper

Preparation

Pierce potatoes with fork, sprinkle with salt, wrap in damp paper towel and microwave for 15 minutes. Potatoes should be firm. Set aside and let cool till they can be handled, then slice.

Place 1/2 Tbsp pats of butter in each mold of the muffin/cupcake pan, then a slice of potatoes, a pinch of salt and pepper, then cheese and scallions. Repeat layers: potato, salt & pepper, cheese, scallions. (I only did 2 layers, but I suggest going up to 3.) Top each mold with another pat of butter and drizzle each with 1 tsp of half-and-half.

Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes, until cheese is melted and potatoes are brown.

38 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of shelly

shelly on 5.21.2010

Made these tonight and LOVED them. Will make again! Thanks for the great recipe.

Profile photo of ellenberry

ellenberry on 5.19.2010

We loved these! I added bacon bits as a layer with the cheese. Extra yummy.

Profile photo of Julie Abelmann

Julie Abelmann on 5.12.2010

I made this with some leftover ham from Easter and it was so tasty. I just cubed the ham and placed it in between the layers and substituted the cheddar cheese for pecorino romano. My family loved it and at the whole lot.

Profile photo of The Sugar Tree

The Sugar Tree on 5.5.2010

These were great, but I agree about the butter. And I actually only used about a 1/4 of a pad on top, and they were still swimming in it. They were a hit, and we ate them all, but the amount of butter left pooled in the bottom was c.r.a.z.y.

Profile photo of amykins

amykins on 4.10.2010

these have way too much butter. When I took them out of the pan, there were little pools of butter left in each cup. They are definitely delicious, and I will make again, but I will be halving the butter next time.

14 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of littleladylones

littleladylones on 6.13.2011

Very good! Make sure you cut down on that butter though! Make sure to cook them until that cheese gets crispy, yum!

Profile photo of timsmom

timsmom on 8.10.2010

The family did not review these well. If I were to make them again, I would add some additional spices to “take them up a notch” as we all found them to be lacking in flavor.

Profile photo of ramsm02g

ramsm02g on 6.27.2010

So, so good. I did modify a bit but cutting way down on the butter. And I’ve made them with the addition of crumbled bacon – definitely a hit with my husband!

Profile photo of reeseyree

reeseyree on 6.22.2010

Loved this! A good twist on an old fav. I like to make them in my larger muffin tin. I agree with “TaraBarn”…it’s a little too much butter….kind of greasy when serving, so next time I will do less.

Profile photo of lesliepie

lesliepie on 5.25.2010

These are decadent! They are moist but not soggy, and so flavorful. They are also so easy that I would let my kids assemble them. I did decrease the butter by about half to trim calories (I know, sacrilege!) and they were still divine. If I were to serve these to company, I would not skimp on the butter!

Related Recipes

Crispy Breakfast Potatoes
Profile Photo by Jennifer Kimbrell in Sides
The most crisp and easy breakfast potatoes. Golden brown, salty, crunchy...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy


Sweet Potato and Pecan Gratin
Profile Photo by Riley - My Daily Morsel in Sides
Cheesy Parmesan and sweet potato gratin topped with buttery cinnamon and...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Loaded Potaffles
Profile Photo by Ruth @ aveggiegoodday in Sides
An ingenious and delicious way to use leftover mashed potatoes.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Roasted Garlic and Gorgonzola Hasselback Potatoes with Brown Butter and Pomegranate Reduction
Profile Photo by Bonnie in Sides
With roasted garlic, Gorgonzola, brown butter, walnuts and a pomegranate balsamic...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Intermediate


Gruyere Twice-Baked Potatoes with Mushrooms, Caramelized Onion and Bacon
Profile Photo by Justine Sulia (Cooking and Beer) in Sides
The perfect side dish to serve this holiday season: Gruyere Twice...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy