The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

Individual Scalloped Potatoes

4.28 Mitt(s) 14 Rating(s)14 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 514 votes, average: 4.28 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

12

Description

They have a little bit of a crisp, very buttery and creamy. The scallions are a must because they give them such great flavor. I am sure you could probably substitute maybe some minced garlic if you like. Yes, they are sinfully delicious, but they are little so they can’t do much damage. Feel free to eat 5 or 6. Really, they are so little, how can it hurt?

Ingredients

  • 8 whole Medium Potatoes
  • 1 stick Butter
  • 1 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • ½ cups Scallions, Chopped
  • 12 teaspoons Half-and-half
  • Salt And Pepper

Preparation

Pierce potatoes with fork, sprinkle with salt, wrap in damp paper towel and microwave for 15 minutes. Potatoes should be firm. Set aside and let cool till they can be handled, then slice.

Place 1/2 Tbsp pats of butter in each mold of the muffin/cupcake pan, then a slice of potatoes, a pinch of salt and pepper, then cheese and scallions. Repeat layers: potato, salt & pepper, cheese, scallions. (I only did 2 layers, but I suggest going up to 3.) Top each mold with another pat of butter and drizzle each with 1 tsp of half-and-half.

Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes, until cheese is melted and potatoes are brown.

38 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of shelly

shelly on 5.21.2010

Made these tonight and LOVED them. Will make again! Thanks for the great recipe.

Avatar of ellenberry

ellenberry on 5.19.2010

We loved these! I added bacon bits as a layer with the cheese. Extra yummy.

Avatar of Julie Abelmann

Julie Abelmann on 5.12.2010

I made this with some leftover ham from Easter and it was so tasty. I just cubed the ham and placed it in between the layers and substituted the cheddar cheese for pecorino romano. My family loved it and at the whole lot.

Avatar of The Sugar Tree

The Sugar Tree on 5.5.2010

These were great, but I agree about the butter. And I actually only used about a 1/4 of a pad on top, and they were still swimming in it. They were a hit, and we ate them all, but the amount of butter left pooled in the bottom was c.r.a.z.y.

Avatar of amykins

amykins on 4.10.2010

these have way too much butter. When I took them out of the pan, there were little pools of butter left in each cup. They are definitely delicious, and I will make again, but I will be halving the butter next time.

14 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of littleladylones

littleladylones on 6.13.2011

Very good! Make sure you cut down on that butter though! Make sure to cook them until that cheese gets crispy, yum!

Avatar of timsmom

timsmom on 8.10.2010

The family did not review these well. If I were to make them again, I would add some additional spices to “take them up a notch” as we all found them to be lacking in flavor.

Avatar of ramsm02g

ramsm02g on 6.27.2010

So, so good. I did modify a bit but cutting way down on the butter. And I’ve made them with the addition of crumbled bacon – definitely a hit with my husband!

Avatar of reeseyree

reeseyree on 6.22.2010

Loved this! A good twist on an old fav. I like to make them in my larger muffin tin. I agree with “TaraBarn”…it’s a little too much butter….kind of greasy when serving, so next time I will do less.

Avatar of lesliepie

lesliepie on 5.25.2010

These are decadent! They are moist but not soggy, and so flavorful. They are also so easy that I would let my kids assemble them. I did decrease the butter by about half to trim calories (I know, sacrilege!) and they were still divine. If I were to serve these to company, I would not skimp on the butter!

Related Recipes

Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Feta Cheese
Avatar Image by Cookinglsl in Sides
Roasted sweet potatoes with feta cheese and pumpkin seeds.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy


Perfect Herbed Fingerling Potatoes
Avatar Image by Rina : I Thee Cook in Sides
I am a total potato lover. I will eat them in...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Salt & Vinegar Grilled Potato Wedges
Avatar Image by Isadora (She Likes Food) in Sides
If you like salt and vinegar potato chips you will love...
5.00 Mitt(s) 1 Rating(s)1 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Addictive Salt and Malt Vinegar Fingerling Potatoes
Avatar Image by I Like to Cook Stuff in Sides
If you like the salt/vinegar combo, you will love these potatoes....
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Extra Crispy Oven Baked French Fries
Avatar Image by Jen and Emily @ Layers of Happiness in Sides
Crispy edges, soft centers---extra-crispy French fries baked not fried, so you...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy