The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Glorified Zucchini Casserole

4.66 Mitt(s) 3 Rating(s)3 votes, average: 4.66 out of 53 votes, average: 4.66 out of 53 votes, average: 4.66 out of 53 votes, average: 4.66 out of 53 votes, average: 4.66 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

8
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

You could call it ratatouille, but really it’s just a glorified zucchini casserole. But dang it, it is good! Serve it for dinner with fish, or ribs, but my all-time favorite is reheated for breakfast with a fried egg on top. Heaven on wheels!

Ingredients

  • 2 cloves Garlic, Chopped
  • 1 whole Sweet Onion, Chopped
  • 1 whole Zucchini Sliced In 1/4 Inch Sliced
  • 1 whole Yellow Squash, Sliced
  • 4 whole Medium Red Potatoes Sliced
  • 4 whole Tomatoes (home Grown Are Best) Sliced
  • Salt And Pepper
  • 1 cup Cream
  • 1 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 sprigs Fresh Basil, Torn

Preparation

In a medium pan, saute the chopped onion and garlic until soft, about 5 minutes. Once the onion and garlic are soft, place them in the bottom of a 9×13 inch pan. Top with the sliced zucchini, then the yellow crookneck squash, potatoes, and finally the tomato slices. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Place uncovered in a preheated 450 F oven for 25-35 minutes. Test with a fork to make sure the potato slices are tender.

Take the casserole out of the oven and drizzle the cream on top of the veggies. Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese and fresh basil over the top and return to the oven for 15 more minutes. When done, the cream and cheese will bubble and melt. Let the casserole sit for a few minutes before serving.

I serve this with any meat main dish, or my favorite is serving it for breakfast with a fried egg on top with toast. It is the best meal when your garden is bursting with fresh veggies.

6 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of Defessa

Defessa on 10.15.2009

Just made this for dinner tonight. The kids loved it! I have enough for a couple of days leftovers–I am looking to try some tomorrow with a fried egg on top!

Thanks!

Profile photo of simplymother

simplymother on 10.7.2009

I loved this, but my kids like it better when I reheated it in the oven the next night with mozzarella cheese on top.

Profile photo of jenamyjen

jenamyjen on 9.8.2009

Such a great way to use up some sqaush and zucchini! Even my picky husband loved it. Leftovers of this are wonderful too!

Profile photo of lorelei

lorelei on 9.4.2009

Delicious! I was a little wary because I wasn’t sure about the combination with the potatoes but it was very good. Better yet, we tried your combination with the toast and egg and it was even better! Thank you!

Profile photo of Lisa

Lisa on 9.4.2009

Thanks so much! You just made my whole day:)

3 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of Gayle Cyra

Gayle Cyra on 9.10.2011

I think this is the ULTIMATE zucchini casserole. I substituted ruby yam for part of the red bliss potato, one more delicious texture in this amazing dish. I cannot say THANKS enough!

Profile photo of piggeldy

piggeldy on 10.21.2010

I couldn’t get yellow squash and had to stick to all zucchini but it was still very nice.

Profile photo of Mandy

Mandy on 9.4.2010

this is an excellent dish! i am excited to try it tomorrow morning for breakfast! thanks for a great recipe! :)

Related Recipes

Tostones (Twice-Fried Green Plantains)
Profile Photo by Jaime Mojica Jr. in Sides
Tostones (referred to as green plantains that are fried twice) are...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Air Fryer Asian Roasted Broccoli
Profile Photo by Taylor Kiser in Sides
Low carb, gluten-free, vegan and so...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Frog Eye Salad
Profile Photo by Krystle in Sides
This cool and creamy salad is the perfect make ahead side...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Greek Ntomatokeftedes (Tomato Fritters)
Profile Photo by Penelope in Sides
Greek tomato fritters (ntomatokeftedes) from beautiful summer tomatoes.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Paleo Baked Zucchini Fritters
Profile Photo by Taylor Kiser in Sides
These easy Baked Zucchini Fritters are so crispy, you’ll never believe...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 16 Level: Easy