The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Hawaiian BBQ Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

4.62 Mitt(s) 35 Rating(s)35 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

12
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

This is easily my most requested recipe. Each time I make it, I am always asked to provide the recipe so friends can make it themselves at home. It really is yummy, and the best part is it takes about 3 minutes to prepare, a couple additional minutes to shred the chicken once cooked and then back in the crock pot it goes to finish soaking up the goodness! Easy-peasy, but oh sooo good!

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds Boneless Chicken Breast, Thighs Or A Combo Of The Two
  • 1 whole Onion (large), Sliced Into Chunks
  • 1 can (20 Oz. Size) Pineapple, I Recommend Nibblits Or Crushed, Drained But Reserve The Juice If Using (See Note Below)
  • 1 bottle (18 To 20 Oz. Size) BBQ Sauce Of Your Choice (Our Favorites Are Sweet Baby Ray's Or Open Pit If We Want To Give It A Little More Of A Kick)
  • Hamburger Buns Or Kaiser Rolls

Preparation

If you use frozen chicken, make sure it is completely defrosted. If you cook it frozen, it will indeed cook but it will make a very “wet” sauce. Place your chicken in the bottom of the crock pot. Top with onions, then pineapple. Pour the entire bottle of BBQ sauce over the whole thing.

Note: If you want a sweeter BBQ, add up to half a cup of the pineapple juice you drained, depending on how sweet you want it. This is optional.

Turn your crock pot on LOW and cook for 8–10 hours (or on HIGH for 4–6).

An hour or two before it is finished cooking, carefully remove the chicken from the crock pot and shred it using two forks. Watch out, it will be hot! Place chicken back in the crock pot and stir well to combine. Finish cooking an additional hour or two so the chicken can absorb most of the sauce. Serve on hamburger buns and top with coleslaw if desired.

Note: When I had made it with Sweet Baby Ray’s and pineapple juice, it was a very sweet Pulled Chicken. It was great, and everyone loved it. But I have to say, using Open Pit BBQ Sauce and no pineapple juice was hands down our favorite! It had just the right amount of sweet and vinegar that we love in a good BBQ.

If you are making this for kids, children tend to like the sweeter variety.

14 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of spoonfuloflaughter2

spoonfuloflaughter2 on 7.4.2011

Made this last week and they were delicious! Perfect for summer when I don’t feel like cooking!

Profile photo of ejdittman

ejdittman on 5.25.2011

This meal was super good. We have a large family so I doubled it, but still had leftovers…which made a fabulous BBQ Chicken pizza! It’s not very often that I get two meals out of one around here!

Profile photo of girl kneads bread

girl kneads bread on 5.18.2011

Made this for dinner last night – and no changes, except used fresh pineapple (i live in Costa Rica – great place for tropical fruits :). It was delicious and my husband also loved it! So simple, too. Will be making this again. Thanks very much.

Profile photo of siciliansoutherner

siciliansoutherner on 5.17.2011

I made this for a Luaua (sp?) inspired baby shower and it tasted awesome! I made sandwiches with hawaiian rolls. I did use pork butt but that was the only thing I changed. Will make again!

Profile photo of tonic

tonic on 5.16.2011

I made this last week. It was SO easy and SO delicious! Thank you so much for sharing!

35 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of stefcia

stefcia on 3.5.2012

Love this recipe! I love that you can literally just throw everything into the crock pot. It is delicious.

Profile photo of badrar

badrar on 1.18.2012

This recipe was good, but we prefer regular pulled pork. This is very sweet.

Profile photo of kender3

kender3 on 12.27.2011

Not bad, but quite sweet and not that flavorful otherwise.

Profile photo of girl kneads bread

girl kneads bread on 10.19.2011

my husband and i both really liked this! fresh pineapple, of course! yummmy!

Profile photo of farmerswife518

farmerswife518 on 9.7.2011

Made this yesterday for dinner after the first day of school…easy easy easy!!! Whole family loved–kids didn’t even know there was pineapple and onions in it! We make pulled pork regularly, which is pretty simple, but this was pretty much effortless–didn’t even have to remove from crockpot to shred. Just happened to find Open Pit BBQ sauce at our local grocery after reading about it here…Perfect! Thanks for the recipe and ideas!!!

Related Recipes

Braised Beef with Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms
Profile Photo by Bita @ Honest & Tasty in Main Courses
This is comfort food at its finest. Tender, juicy and flavorful....
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Spaghetti al Pomodoro
Profile Photo by Eating with Alice in Main Courses
This pasta dish was Audrey Hepburn's favourite. It's super simple and...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy


Spicy Pasta with Broccoli and Turkey
Profile Photo by Justine Sulia (Cooking and Beer) in Main Courses
The perfect way to use up that leftover turkey: spicy pasta...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Cumin & Mustard Roasted Chicken with Fruit
Profile Photo by Mary Frances in Main Courses
We had some friends over for dinner on Tuesday night, and...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Intermediate


Mapo Tofu
Profile Photo by Arousing Appetites in Main Courses
This fully vegetarian adaptation of Mapo Tofu is delicious and will...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy