The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

Hawaiian BBQ Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

4.62 Mitt(s) 35 Rating(s)35 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 535 votes, average: 4.62 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

12

Description

This is easily my most requested recipe. Each time I make it, I am always asked to provide the recipe so friends can make it themselves at home. It really is yummy, and the best part is it takes about 3 minutes to prepare, a couple additional minutes to shred the chicken once cooked and then back in the crock pot it goes to finish soaking up the goodness! Easy-peasy, but oh sooo good!

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds Boneless Chicken Breast, Thighs Or A Combo Of The Two
  • 1 whole Onion (large), Sliced Into Chunks
  • 1 can (20 Oz. Size) Pineapple, I Recommend Nibblits Or Crushed, Drained But Reserve The Juice If Using (See Note Below)
  • 1 bottle (18 To 20 Oz. Size) BBQ Sauce Of Your Choice (Our Favorites Are Sweet Baby Ray's Or Open Pit If We Want To Give It A Little More Of A Kick)
  • Hamburger Buns Or Kaiser Rolls

Preparation

If you use frozen chicken, make sure it is completely defrosted. If you cook it frozen, it will indeed cook but it will make a very “wet” sauce. Place your chicken in the bottom of the crock pot. Top with onions, then pineapple. Pour the entire bottle of BBQ sauce over the whole thing.

Note: If you want a sweeter BBQ, add up to half a cup of the pineapple juice you drained, depending on how sweet you want it. This is optional.

Turn your crock pot on LOW and cook for 8–10 hours (or on HIGH for 4–6).

An hour or two before it is finished cooking, carefully remove the chicken from the crock pot and shred it using two forks. Watch out, it will be hot! Place chicken back in the crock pot and stir well to combine. Finish cooking an additional hour or two so the chicken can absorb most of the sauce. Serve on hamburger buns and top with coleslaw if desired.

Note: When I had made it with Sweet Baby Ray’s and pineapple juice, it was a very sweet Pulled Chicken. It was great, and everyone loved it. But I have to say, using Open Pit BBQ Sauce and no pineapple juice was hands down our favorite! It had just the right amount of sweet and vinegar that we love in a good BBQ.

If you are making this for kids, children tend to like the sweeter variety.

14 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of spoonfuloflaughter2

spoonfuloflaughter2 on 7.4.2011

Made this last week and they were delicious! Perfect for summer when I don’t feel like cooking!

Avatar of ejdittman

ejdittman on 5.25.2011

This meal was super good. We have a large family so I doubled it, but still had leftovers…which made a fabulous BBQ Chicken pizza! It’s not very often that I get two meals out of one around here!

Avatar of girl kneads bread

girl kneads bread on 5.18.2011

Made this for dinner last night – and no changes, except used fresh pineapple (i live in Costa Rica – great place for tropical fruits :). It was delicious and my husband also loved it! So simple, too. Will be making this again. Thanks very much.

Avatar of siciliansoutherner

siciliansoutherner on 5.17.2011

I made this for a Luaua (sp?) inspired baby shower and it tasted awesome! I made sandwiches with hawaiian rolls. I did use pork butt but that was the only thing I changed. Will make again!

Avatar of tonic

tonic on 5.16.2011

I made this last week. It was SO easy and SO delicious! Thank you so much for sharing!

35 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of stefcia

stefcia on 3.5.2012

Love this recipe! I love that you can literally just throw everything into the crock pot. It is delicious.

Avatar of badrar

badrar on 1.18.2012

This recipe was good, but we prefer regular pulled pork. This is very sweet.

Avatar of kender3

kender3 on 12.27.2011

Not bad, but quite sweet and not that flavorful otherwise.

Avatar of girl kneads bread

girl kneads bread on 10.19.2011

my husband and i both really liked this! fresh pineapple, of course! yummmy!

Avatar of farmerswife518

farmerswife518 on 9.7.2011

Made this yesterday for dinner after the first day of school…easy easy easy!!! Whole family loved–kids didn’t even know there was pineapple and onions in it! We make pulled pork regularly, which is pretty simple, but this was pretty much effortless–didn’t even have to remove from crockpot to shred. Just happened to find Open Pit BBQ sauce at our local grocery after reading about it here…Perfect! Thanks for the recipe and ideas!!!

Related Recipes

The “Gyro” Pita Pocket
Avatar Image by C.L. Wiser (Cheryl) in Main Courses
If you like lamb you will enjoy this sandwich.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Spicy Kung Pao Chicken
Avatar Image by Maebells in Main Courses
Crunchy chicken tossed in a spicy Asian-inspired sauce packed with sesame...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Memphis Style Rub
Avatar Image by Jen @ Peanut Butter and Peppers in Main Courses
Tender, juicy pork tenderloin that has been marinated in savory, slightly...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy


Savory Breakfast Casserole
Avatar Image by Leigh Suznovich of Jeanie and Lulu's Kitchen in Main Courses
This savory breakfast casserole is meaty, full of flavor and best...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Orange Chicken
Avatar Image by Kristen Chidsey in Main Courses
A healthy version of a favorite take-out meal.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 6 Level: Easy