The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

The Best Quiche Ever!

5.00 Mitt(s) 16 Rating(s)16 votes, average: 5.00 out of 516 votes, average: 5.00 out of 516 votes, average: 5.00 out of 516 votes, average: 5.00 out of 516 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

8

Description

This is such a simple yummy recipe! Good for breakfast or a simple dinner.

Ingredients

  • 6 whole Eggs
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ⅛ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • 1 dash Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 cups Grated Swiss Cheese
  • ¼ cups Chopped Onions
  • 1 whole Pastry Pie Crust

Preparation

These are my basic ingredients. I usually add a meat or a veggie to the quiche. Ham, sausage, bacon, whatever I have in the fridge. You can also add spinach or even crab meat to it. It is a very versatile recipe and can be changed around per your tastes.

Mix all the liquid ingredients and seasonings together in a bowl. Do not over mix it; I just whisk it together.

Use your favorite pastry pie crust recipe. I do not have one that I love, so I usually use a pre-made crust (gasp). It is easy and quick and it saves me a lot of time. Pioneer Woman has a good crust recipe on her site.

Place your grated cheese, onions and whatever filling you choose to put in your quiche in your pastry crust. Sprinkle it around and make sure it is all evenly distributed. Pour the egg mixture over the filling ingredients. You can add a bit more cheese on the top if you like.

Bake at 350 F for 45 minutes or until it starts to get nice and brown on top. After it comes out of the oven, let it sit for about 10 minutes. It will make it easier to cut and serve.

I hope you enjoy this quiche as much as I do.

8 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of Melanie O

Melanie O on 3.2.2012

Made this recipe with various alterations for mini quiches at a bridal shower – it was a huge hit! Thanks so much.

Avatar of staceytx

staceytx on 5.10.2010

Really enjoyed this recipe thanks!

Avatar of susieb

susieb on 4.13.2010

This really is the best quiche ever! I’ve made it 3 times now, and its always great. Thanks for the recipie.

Avatar of little bit of sunshine

little bit of sunshine on 3.17.2010

I’m going to make this tonight sounds so good, will be adding leftover bacon and spinach.

Thanks

Avatar of shep

shep on 1.8.2010

I made this last night and it was very good. I used a frozen pie crust, light cream, and a bag of the light Mexican cheese. I added mushrooms and broccoli. Can’t wait to eat the leftovers!

17 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of suzanne1960

suzanne1960 on 10.6.2013

It was indeed both very good and very easy!

Avatar of amycookie

amycookie on 5.28.2013

This was a huge hit with my family! :) My seven year old son keeps asking me to make it again and again!

Avatar of Dyedinthewoolcook

Dyedinthewoolcook on 3.5.2013

Awesome recipe! Great ratio of eggs to cream. I added caramelized onions, sauteed mushrooms, and a few slices of bacon along with the cheese and it was amazing. My quiche hating husband thought it was wonderful and told me to make it again. Thanks for the great recipe.

Avatar of Rachel

Rachel on 9.9.2012

I used my own adds (spinach, mushrooms, and bacon) but my husband raved about the “custard”. And I agreed with him. The ratio is perfect. This bakes up nice and firm and with a good rest it slices and serves beautifully. I will probably use this recipe always.

Avatar of sarahbicky

sarahbicky on 4.15.2012

Dee-Lish-Us!!!!
Decided to carmelize my onions in a little butter – let them cool while I got a quick pre-bake on the pie crust (frozen deep dish definitely the way to go when looking for convenience) Added a healthy shot of diced ham, shredded swiss and co-jack, and then the egg mixture (to which I added about a tbsp of dijon)
Perfection – Best Quiche I’ve ever eaten!

Related Recipes

Ancient Grains Chocolate Granola
Avatar Image by Lisa in Breakfast
Start off your day with some chocolate! This vegan chocolate cranberry...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 10 Level: Easy


Fruity Pebble Parfait
Avatar Image by Jen @ Peanut Butter and Peppers in Breakfast
A light, healthy, parfait that tastes like sherbet that is made...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy


Red Velvet Pancakes
Avatar Image by Dana Blacklock in Breakfast
For those who have never had a ‘red velvet’ desert, the...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 10 Level: Easy


Garlicky Goat Cheese Grits
Avatar Image by Justine Sulia (Cooking and Beer) in Breakfast
These grits are the perfect, easy dish to serve for breakfast...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Everything Egg Bake
Avatar Image by Raquel ~ Horses & Heels in Breakfast
A quick and easy egg bake for two.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 2 Level: Easy