The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Avatar Image

Pumpkin Cornbread

4.93 Mitt(s) 32 Rating(s)32 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 532 votes, average: 4.93 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

12

Description

A delightful fall twist on a classic, perfect with a big bowl of chili!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoons Ground Nutmeg
  • ½ cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Cornmeal
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 cup Pumpkin Puree
  • ¼ cups Olive Oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Molasses

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F and grease an 8×8″ baking dish.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, spices, brown sugar, and cornmeal.

In a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs, and then stir in the pumpkin, oil, and molasses.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients just until combined, and then pour the batter into the pan, smoothing out the top as much as possible.

Bake 30 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Serve warm.

22 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Avatar of michelle Spiziri

michelle Spiziri on 9.23.2012

just curious..does it matter to use extra virgin olive oil or plain olive oil? could I use a blood orange olive oil? are you familiar with orange and pumpkin combinations?

Avatar of Lisa

Lisa on 10.10.2011

Great recipe!! Quick to whip up at last minute and very tasty. I used gluten free flour and added some roasted pumpkin seeds and sunflowers seeds for added crunch. Great with pork tenderloin and rosemary roasted veggies.

Avatar of cherylr56

cherylr56 on 10.3.2011

The review link won’t let me submit a review, but this was great. Made it with tortilla soup. Hubby loved it, but thought it was a bit too sweet to crumble into the soup. That didn’t stop me, then I had a 2nd piece for dessert. He put butter on his, but it was so moist, I ate it without anything extra on it. Very good!

Avatar of cherylr56

cherylr56 on 10.3.2011

Per Tracy’s website, the cinnamon is actually 1/2 TEASPOON, not 1/2 TABLESPOON. I’ve got this in the oven now and will review after it’s done.

Avatar of Nicole

Nicole on 9.30.2011

I saw a member suggest substituting chili pepper and paprika for the spices (can’t find the comment now) and I tried this last night. It came out great! I’m serving it with a white chili tonight. Thank you Tracy.

30 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Avatar of Vicki

Vicki on 2.26.2013

Love this! I used honey instead of the molasses and added a little Silk Almond unsweetened milk to thin out the batter just a bit. This is our new go-to cornbread! Thanks for a the fabulous recipe.

Avatar of rinabeana

rinabeana on 9.28.2012

After making this recipe, I saw no further need for making “normal” cornbread. Why had I never thought of this before? Everyone I’ve made it for has raved. My favorite accompaniments are chili and shrimp creole. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Avatar of rolltide68

rolltide68 on 2.12.2012

I dislike cornbread, but like pumpkin so I was optimistic. Baked in a cast iron skillet (I like crunchy) and it was delicious. It’s going in my repertoire. Thanks so much for sharing.

Avatar of Brenda

Brenda on 11.6.2011

I made this tonight to go with some beef and lentil soup. It was delicious! I grew up eating corn bread with molasses along with chili. So, of course I topped my square with molasses. This recipe is a keeper!

Avatar of Kim

Kim on 10.23.2011

very tasty cornbread! The flavours are really nice with moroccan-spiced stew! I had a little bit less than a cup of pumpkin, so i made up the difference with plain yogurt and it came out fab!

Related Recipes

Chewy Anzac Biscuits
Avatar Image by Lisa H. in Breads
Anzac biscuits are egg-less oatmeal biscuits.
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 28 Level: Easy


Vegan Carrot Spice Muffins
Avatar Image by Vegan Insanity in Breads
Here’s a fun and easy way to sneak more veggies into...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 12 Level: Easy


Easy Homemade Garlic Bread
Avatar Image by Jocelyn (Grandbaby Cakes) in Breads
A very simple garlic bread recipe that yields perfectly delicious results!
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


Banana Carrot Cake Bread
Avatar Image by Jen @ Peanut Butter and Peppers in Breads
A moist banana bread that's chock full of carrots, pecans, raisins...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 15 Level: Easy


Cheddar-Chive Drop Biscuits
Avatar Image by Ree | The Pioneer Woman in Breads
Light and lovely, with the sharpness of cheddar and chives.
5.00 Mitt(s) 1 Rating(s)1 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 51 vote, average: 5.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 30 Level: Easy