The Pioneer Woman Tasty Kitchen
Profile Photo

Honey Oatmeal Bread

4.98 Mitt(s) 51 Rating(s)51 votes, average: 4.98 out of 551 votes, average: 4.98 out of 551 votes, average: 4.98 out of 551 votes, average: 4.98 out of 551 votes, average: 4.98 out of 5

Prep:

Cook:

Level: Easy

System:

24
x

Print Options

Page size Letter 3x5 4x6
Text Size Small Medium Large
Content Include description
Include prep time, etc.
Show image

Description

This bread is simple and comforting. It is great for sandwiches.

Ingredients

  • 4-½ teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
  • ½ cups Honey
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2-¼ cups Water
  • 1 Tablespoon Salt
  • 2-¾ cups All-purpose Flour
  • 4 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 cup Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1 whole Egg

Preparation

In a medium bowl (or in a saucepan), heat the butter and honey until the butter is melted. Remove from heat and add the water; the mixture should be warm (110-120 degrees). Stir in the yeast and let sit until bubbly, about 10 minutes (this is called making a sponge).

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a dough hook, combine salt, yeast mixture, 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. With mixer on low, gradually blend liquid into dry ingredients until just blended. Increase the speed to medium, beat for two minutes, occasionally scraping bowl. Gradually beat in the egg and one cup of whole wheat flour to make a thick batter. Continue beating for two minutes. Stir in oats, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. Knead till smooth and elastic. Use more flour if dough is too sticky (I usually add about 2/3 cup more).

Place in a greased bowl and cover. Let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

Punch the dough down. Turn onto a floured surface; cover with the bowl and let rise for 15 minutes. Shape into two loaves and let rise for 1 hour in greased 9 x 5 loaf pans.

Bake at 350 degrees (F) for 35 to 40 minutes.

(You can make the dough in a bread machine, using bread flour instead of all-purpose flour. Use the dough mode setting for the largest size loaf. Follow the recipe’s directions for the second rise and baking.)

49 Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Profile photo of aswanson1996

aswanson1996 on 9.2.2015

My daughter just received a purple ribbon at the 2015 Nebraska State Fair with this recipe! It is also a favorite to take to people of they are ill or had a baby.

Profile photo of Josie Landon

Josie Landon on 5.8.2012

I made the bread again, but this time used a combination of maple syrup and brown sugar in place of the honey. I also added a little dough conditioner to help keep it light. Very good!

Profile photo of bethannabel

bethannabel on 1.17.2012

Delicious! One question — what’s the best way to store it?? I’m new at breads :)

Profile photo of marty

marty on 11.29.2011

Although I haven’t tried this recipe yet, I love the simplicity of the ingredients and am going to give it a shot this weekend. Sounds like a delicious bread to spread some homemade jam on. Delicious!

Profile photo of Karen Sandoval

Karen Sandoval on 11.19.2011

warning: half the ingredients if you are using a bread machine. this makes 2 loaves and if you follow it as written here you will have overflow. no problem though, i just cut it in half and put the other half in a loaf pan! its still rising! 1 hour to go

51 Reviews

You must be logged in to post a review.

Profile photo of aswanson1996

aswanson1996 on 9.2.2015

My daughter just received a purple ribbon at the 2015 Nebraska State Fair with this recipe. She also got a special recognition ribbon. It is always popular when I make it and it is one of my favorites to take to people when they are ill or had a baby. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

Profile photo of 1001tealcranes

1001tealcranes on 9.10.2012

Amazing bread. I changed out a cup of wheat flour for a cup of ground flax seed for some added healthy stuff and it turned out amazing! Such an easy recipe and delicious hearty bread. I sliced, wrapped and put in the freezer to keep longer since there are no preservatives.

Profile photo of Josie Landon

Josie Landon on 4.29.2012

Wonderful, flavorful bread that is perfect for sandwiches. Because there is just the two of us, I tightly wrapped and froze the second loaf. It defrosted beautifully the next week. This one is a keeper!

Profile photo of kender3

kender3 on 4.1.2012

This is fool proof. I know, because I’m the fool who forgot to put the blade in the bread machine. After a major mess, kneaded it into dough and carried on–and it is really good. Looking forward to trying again in a more conventional way.

Profile photo of Kelly

Kelly on 2.16.2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this bread! I couldn’t get my kids to eat it, but they are super picky.

Related Recipes

My Favourite Chocolate Chip Muffins
Profile Photo by Marsha | Marsha's Baking Addiction in Breads
My all-time favourite muffins, these muffins are deliciously moist and stuffed...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 12 Level: Easy


Double Chocolate Banana Bread
Profile Photo by Kelley Simmons @ Chef Savvy in Breads
The best Double Chocolate Banana Bread. Super moist, soft and chocolatey!...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy


0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 4 Level: Easy


Nutella Stuffed Chocolate Orange Muffins
Profile Photo by Marsha | Marsha's Baking Addiction in Breads
Deliciously moist orange-infused muffins stuffed with Nutella and chocolate chips, and...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 12 Level: Easy


Strawberry Mascarpone Scones
Profile Photo by Leigh Suznovich of Jeanie and Lulu's Kitchen in Breads
These strawberry mascarpone scones are so puffy, flavorful and amazing for...
0.00 Mitt(s) 0 Rating(s)0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5

Prep: Cook:

Serves: 8 Level: Easy